Fourteen Sachem Seniors Named National Merit Commended Students

1 thumbnail135698
2 thumbnail135699
3 thumbnail135700
Fourteen Sachem Central School District seniors have been named as commended students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. 

At the end of September, about 34,000 of the approximately 50,000 highest scorers were chosen for this honor based on their PSAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test results. Each of the 14 Sachem students chosen as commended students boasts impressive academic résumés, including enrollment in challenging Advanced Placement courses, exemplary involvement in clubs and in a wide variety of honor societies. 

Selected as commended students this year are Anika Banerjee, Ahmet Buyukbayraktar, Lara Fitzpatrick, Katelyn Frawley, Miranda Garcia-Cassani, Tiffany Lin, Kaya Manolt, Alena Thotam and Alexa Wienclaw from High School North and Joseph Dachinger, Benjamin Luckow, Ryan Meehan, Nicholas Mulieri and Elizabeth Reimer from High School East. 

Each student selected received letters of commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic performance and now become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.